Friday, March 18, 2016

Five years ago ...

... I met several wonderful authors who helped me self-publish my first book, Dream Smashers. The authors of Darkside Publishing accepted me under their label and we took a voyage together into the new world of the Amazon and the sea of possibilities awaiting us in the scary unknown.

Times have changed since then. More than a handful of self-published authors have made best selling lists. Many are earning a decent living publishing their writing. And thousands more are still treading water. Every day hundreds of new authors emerge into the self-publishing world with a story to tell.

I'm happy with the decision I made five years ago. It's been a fun and challenging adventure with many more to come. New friends, stories, and feats to remember from the past five years and others to arrive for the next!

To celebrate, let's give away signed paper books from some of the authors who have supported and guided me in the beginning and even now. You do remember what paper books are, don't you?

 Attach on Phoenix: Forsaken Stars Saga #1 
by USA Today Bestselling Author 
Megg Jensen

Two hundred years ago, an interplanetary expedition crashed on a deserted planet. Their ship was destroyed. Their technology lost.

They built a new society while they waited for rescue. It never came.

Instead they caught the attention of the dragzhi, an aggressive alien species, and found themselves in the midst of a war they were doomed to lose.

Torsten Vikker, a soldier who’d rather read than fight, is on a mission to recover an artifact rumored to have the power to defeat the dragzhi. Rell, a woman raised in a cult, will stop at nothing to keep him away from what she holds sacred.

Yet, only together can they hope to save humanity from utter annihilation.




 Found: Penny Black Trilogy #1 
by Stacey Wallace Benefiel

Penny Black hasn’t had it easy. Just about everything you’d expect to happen to a harassed foster-kid turned junkie has happened to Penny. Add in the mysterious power to rewind time, conducting events around her, and it’s a wonder she held up on the streets for so many years. Now, at seventeen, the New Society has found her. Finally, Penny is where she belongs. But that doesn’t stop the visions, or the need to protect the victims shown to her.

Wyatt Adams is excited and intrigued when his sister Melody assigns him to be Penny’s Lookout. Being the youngest, and hopelessly ordinary in the family that created the New Society, has left Wyatt feeling like he has a lot to prove — and Penny is a big deal. She’s got abilities that surpass any he’s seen before … and pretty much every quality he looks for in a girlfriend, but no one needs to know about that, especially Penny.

*The Penny Black trilogy is a companion to the Zellie Wells trilogy and not a continuation of the series.

*Due to language and sexuality, FOUND is recommended for older teens.

 Bloody Little Secrets 
by Karly Kirkpatrick

17-year-old Vicky Hernandez has a big problem. She's dead. Or not quite. After discovering she's been turned into a vampire, she tries to settle into a quiet suburb of Chicago and return to a normal life. If only she could stop wanting to bite her boyfriend. Not to mention she is dying to find out who turned her, and why. She doesn't have to wait long before they come to her.


 Grounded: The Grounded Trilogy #1 
by GP Ching

Faith kept her plain. Science made her complicated.
In the near future, an amish girl discovers she's the product of a government experiment gone awry.

In Hemlock Hollow, life isn't easy, but it is simple.  Things in my community haven’t changed much in over three hundred years, since the time my Amish ancestors came to what is now the Green Republic. I milk my cow by hand, make fresh bread every morning, and hope to be courted by Jeremiah, a boy I’ve known since childhood.

When my father falls ill, the English doctor says a hospital outside the wall can heal him. Jeremiah convinces me to go on rumspringa, to experience the outside world as an Englisher in order to be closer to my father during his recovery. Others have gone before me. They claim it’s an adventure. But adventure turns to horror as an ordinary light switch thrusts me into a new world, and revelations about my personal history make me question everything I believe. 

All my life I’ve worked to be simple. I can’t pretend anymore. Nothing about me is simple.
The McCall Initiative, Episodes 1.1 - 1.3 
by Lisa Nowak

What if the Pacific Northwest seceded from the United States? In 2063, it has.

The climate crisis that’s devastated all but the Northwest corner of the U.S. is the only reality Piper Hall has ever known. She doesn’t waste a thought on that, the secession that created Cascadia, or the closed border, erected to keep out climate refugees. With her family impoverished by her father’s death, she’s driven by just one goal—winning a scholarship to college and later med school.

When Piper’s little brother starts talking about poor people vanishing, she’s convinced the stories are just rumors. Then she comes home to an empty house. Branded a criminal and forced into hiding, Piper must fight for her freedom, her family, and her future. But those responsible for the disappearances will stop at nothing to protect their secrets, and the only person who can help might be the very boy whose family has displaced her own.

The McCall Initiative is a story told in serial form. If you’re a fan of edge-of-your-seat dystopian thrillers with a twist of romance, you’ll love Lisa Nowak’s glimpse at a future that’s all too plausible. Great for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Legend.

A first edition copy of Dream Smashers 
by yours truly -- typos and all!

My name is Autumn Spring Winters. Right? What sane person names their kid after not only one season of the year, but three? Well, the last name was inherited, but still. Nobody ever said my mom was in her right mind, though. I often wonder what life would be like if she wasn’t a tweaker. But, you know, that’s just a daydream. Reality is she’s a meth addict. She’s been an addict for as long as I can remember. Sometimes I like to believe her when she says she’s clean. Sometimes, when she’s high, we get along great. Sometimes we even talk. When she’s coming down, though, it’s best to just hide.

My name is Autumn Spring Winters and Dream Smashers is my story. It’s a love story, but most of all, it’s about letting go.

_________________________________

To enter, you have to apparently visit my Facebook page. You don't have to "like" it or anything. I'm cheap and in order to use Rafflecopter for free (Because, let's face it, I'm a starving author--well, not starving because I eat a lot, but you know what I mean), I had to pick the least time consuming step for you to do in order to enter. I could have purchased a membership to give you more options, but we've covered why that isn't happening. So, please use the Rafflecopter below to enter.

I will email the winners in order to allow the choice of book preference.

The giveaway begins on March 18th and ends on April 1st. Winners will be notified the first week of April via email and a mailing address will need to be furnished to mail the book. *US residents only, please*

Thank you, readers! I appreciate you. Good luck! I hope you win the book of your choice. These are some amazing stories by some wonderful authors.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, February 18, 2016

SALE!

Get the first THREE e-books in the Lords of Shifters series for only 99 cents! (limited time)



There are realms on this world where unusual creatures dwell. They remain hidden from humans to save their kind, but over the years, they too suffer from the same destruction humans have endured. Struggles over power and greed have ignited a fire between them, separating them, causing hunger and pain for some, and luxury for others.

Three small town teens, best friends, are thrust into the creatures' war. Not only will their friendship be tested, but their ability to survive and to save those they love will be challenged.

This bundle contains the first three books in the Lords of Shifters Series: Loramendi's Story, Spider Wars, and Dark Horse FOR ONLY 99 CENTS!

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1QnsDnJ
BN: http://bit.ly/1ouRzxx
iTunes: http://apple.co/1OitIWv
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1RaMDqH

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Death Touch is Now Available!

You've been patient and now the wait is over! The fourth book in the Lords of Shifters series is now available.

Aubrey is a witch with no magic. She helplessly watches as the town hangs her mother to death and wishes she could save her with a spell. But before her mother dies, she curses Aubrey to live as a human and warns her to stay away from dragons.

With nothing to live for and no love in her life, Aubrey falls into a depression. When a boy with golden eyes shows up at her door, he may be exactly what she needs and everything her mother warned against. Will he ever be able to thaw Aubrey’s heart?

Now that Lora has made it to Takoda and vowed to destroy Lord Xifan and the Hornbroods, she discovers that everyone she cares for has lied to her. Aubrey has disappeared, Lora’s best friend is actually her brother and her other best friend is a giant spider, and the barn is full of suffering. That’s not even the worst of it. If she destroys the barn, it may kill everyone she loves. Is Lora able to do the right thing with such a high cost?



As you probably know, Loramendi's Story was altered and re-released in 2015. If you read Loramendi's Story prior to 2015, please be sure to take a look at the letter I wrote to you in the front of Death Touch.

I'm so excited to bring you this story and hope you enjoy it! I'd love to hear what you think of it.

Death Touch is now available on Amazon, BN, Apple, Kobo, and everywhere ebooks are sold.